NEW Concert Review: Iceage in Dallas 5/26/18

icemonkey.jpg

Here is a review from the Iceage show at Club Dada in Dallas.

Our review format: The format is a straight forward expression of 5 separate thoughts. The best comparison would be to 5 text messages about a concert or album from your friend to you. Some messages may be only one or two words, some may be run-on sentences, and some may be paragraphs. We do promise not to ramble on and drift off topic like a text from your favorite grandparent.

Iceage
RIYL: Old Artic Monkeys, LIFE, The Clash
Pseudo Genre: Punky Post Punk

1. No other type of show is quite as much fun as a lively punk show. Moshing and dancing and sweating without a care in the world, makes for a great evening.
2. Iceage has grown and matured as a band, and with a charismatic lead singer, are ready to take the next step...to wherever that entails.
3. Iceage utilized a violin player to provide fullness to their sound, which had been provided primary by horns on their albums. We learned that a well mic’d up violin sounds great at a punk show and fills in nicely for horns.
4. A stuffed monkey doesn’t seem completely out of place in a mosh pit. ”
5. With their well paced set list and tight performance, Iceage did not require stage banter to build a bond with the crowd. The energy given was the same as the energy received.

Below is a video of "Painkiller" live from the show.

iceage1.jpg

Concert Review 5/17/18: TDE Championship Tour AKA Kendrick's Victory Lap

The TDE (Top Dawg Entertainment) Championship Tour came to Dallas tonight.

Our review format: The format is a straight forward expression of 5 separate thoughts. The best comparison would be to 5 text messages about a concert or album from your friend to you. Some messages may be only one or two words, some may be run-on sentences, and some may be paragraphs. We do promise not to ramble on and drift off topic like a text from your favorite grandparent.

Kendrick Lamar
RIYL: Pulitzer Prize Winners
Pseudo Genre: G.O.A.T.

1. It would be easy to make sports analogies, especially since Kendrick performed in front of a Formula 1 race car. Despite that, we will not say that this performance was a victory lap for Kendrick.
2. Almost the entire TDE roster performed, but all the attention was on Kendrick Lamar and SZA with a lesser spotlight on Schoolboy Q and Jay Rock.
3. Pulitzer Kenny, AKA Kendrick Lamar, performed without a pause and without an encore.
4. The crowd energy of a Kendrick performance is simply, unmatched 5. Kendrick and TDE draw a racial diverse crowd, but very few fans were over 30 years of age.

Here is a video we shot along with a few pictures.

Pulitzer Kenny.JPG
Kendrick Lamar

Concert Review from 4/22/18 The Breeders in Dallas

Here is a much delayed review from The Breeders show in Dallas on 4/22/18.

Our review format: The format is a straight forward expression of 5 separate thoughts. The best comparison would be to 5 text messages about a concert or album from your friend to you. Some messages may be only one or two words, some may be run-on sentences, and some may be paragraphs. We do promise not to ramble on and drift off topic like a text from your favorite grandparent.

The Breeders
RIYL: The Pixies, Pavement, Sleater-Kinney
Pseudo Genre: Pre-Seattle (NorthEast) Grunge

1. Kim Deal is a perfectionist, in all the right ways. The Breeders performance is tight and yet very entertaining.
2. Having the original line up together made this tour more special than the previous.
3. Josephine Wiggs, the bassist, has a dry sense of humor and excellent comedic timing.
4. A crowd with the average age in the 40s is much more polite and a lot less energetic than a crowd with an average age in the 20s.
5. We hope that this line up puts out another album, because the new stuff is as good as any of the old.

We shot a couple of videos and some pictures (one from SXSW).

IMG_1235.jpg
Kim Deal SXSW

Concert Review 4/11/18: King Krule

King Krule played with Kelsey Lu as the opening act at Granada Theater in Dallas 4/11/18. 

Kelsey Lu warmed up the crowd with a stream of consciousness set of beautiful music and vocals...The Granada Theater was muggy and warm, as if they did not expect as large a crowd as was present...King Krule performed with a full band creating a room filling sound that often seemed like it might burst out of the theater...With a muddled mix of sound vocals and even lead guitar were often lost in the bass and drums...Alternating between crooners and screamers, Archy kept the crowd enraptured throughout the night. 

 

Here is a picture of Kelsey Lu.

Kelsey Lu.jpg

Here are a few pictures of Archy Marshall (King Krule)

King Krule.jpg
King Krule 2.jpg
King Krule 3.jpg

Here is a video of "The Locomotive".

Review Format

Today, with the Titus Andronicus review, we are introducing our new review format. This will be used for concerts, albums, music festivals, and anything else that we review.

The format is a straight forward expression of 5 separate thoughts with a bit of style and formatting borrowed from the old Larry King USA Today articles. The best comparison would be to 5 text messages about a concert or album from your friend. Some messages may be only one or two words, some may be runon sentences, and some may be paragraphs. We do promise not to ramble on and drift off topic like a text from your favorite grandparent.

Our goal is to be brief, informative, and to not simply rehash the same concert review written city after city using press release information and a few facts about the first 3 or 4 songs played (before the reviewer left to send in the review and head to sleep). We are music fans.  Our reviews may come a day late because our ears were ringing, hearts pumping, and adrenaline flowing after a show; and we did not want to sit down to compose our thoughts and edit our pictures and video.

We will try to always include photos and video, because concerts are an experience for the senses.

Concert Review 4/6/18: Titus Andronicus "Acoustic"

Here is our review of the Titus Andronicus "Acoustic" Concert from 4/6/2018 in Fort Worth, TX. 

..."Acoustic" is actually "Stripped Down" and the performance was with an electric guitar and electric piano. There was no percussion or traditional rhythm section...Even Stripped down, Titus Andronicus is a high energy show...Patrick Stickles, has a skill with stage banter that is on the level of Tom Waits, Dan Deacon, or Father John Misty. With a full band, or alone, Patrick's conversations with himself and advice to the crowd are always a highlight of any T@ show...The removal of the drums and bass guitar gave the vocals room to breathe. This enabled the crowd to focus on the depth and meaning of the lyrics, which is very different than a typical T@ show that would involve multiple mosh pits and crowd dives...They performed covers of rarity tracks by Velvet Underground and Lou Reed (and possibly a song or two others we did not recognize) along with the theme from Cheers...Patrick's mother is getting married and he has a future sister-in-law living in Texas, and though he supports his mother's marriage, he does not support marriage in general or procreation. 

Here are some photos followed by a video of Patrick performing while sitting at the bar opposite the stage. 

 

Patrick.jpg
Titus Andronicus Acoustic.jpg
Patrick Stickles.jpg
Titus Cheers.jpg

Cupcakke 2/27/2018

Cupcakke is a 20 year old hip hop artist from Chicago who has found her niche by creating songs that are empowering, especially to women. Her show tonight, at RBC in Dallas, had a crowd that was predominantly women and members of the LGBT community. It was apropos that her show was a mixture of a concert and drag show atmosphere. Despite lack-luster opening performers, the crowd was crazy and into the music from the moment she hit the stage.  

She performed a furious and unrelenting 40 minute set for the raucous and exuberant crowd. The larger than life personality that Cupakke projects may be more character than substance, but it is truly all entertainment. Our video below is NSFW, but then again, nothing Cupcakke ever does is safe for work. 

Tyler the Creator/ Vince Staples Feb. 8, 2018, The Bomb Factory Dallas, TX

If the Democrats are serious about winning the upcoming elections, they’ll hire Tyler the Creator and Vince Staples to instigate a youth-driven frenzy, just as they did on Thursday night at The Bomb Factory. Fans lined up outside the venue hours before doors opened, and by 7pm, the line zig-zagged around several buildings in Deep Ellum, forcing Bomb Factory employees to monitor street crossings in several areas. Once inside, fans anxiously sought out the merch tables, where they happily dropped $200 on one of Tyler’s signature hoodies or $30 on a pair of socks donning his “GOLF” logo. The merch was so popular, in fact, that it drew just as many fans as Tyler himself, with hundreds of people foregoing the show to wait in an hour long line to buy something-anything- made by Tyler. Those who chose to see the show were treated with a set from Vince Staples, whose expertly crafted multi-screen backdrop was a perfect accompaniment to his understated all-black aesthetic. Vince began his set with “BagBak” and “Rain Come Down,” with little pause in between the fourteen songs that followed. His typical all-business stage persona kept the crowd continuously jumping and moshing to the music (even to the slower songs). When he was finished, I was sure the crowd would be, too. But about 30 minutes later, when the curtain opened for Tyler the Creator, fans once again rose to the occasion. Standing with his back to the crowd, atop a life-sized fallen tree, Tyler seemed to be soaking up the moment, silently reveling in the adoration. As the music to “Where This Flower Blooms,” began to play, fans lurched toward the stage all at once, causing a wave of bodies to close in on each other as the anticipation built. Tyler followed his grand entrance with an even mix of old and new songs like “Yonkers,” “She,” and “November.” He walked along a fallen tree prop showcasing his uneven, contorted dance moves and lazily sat on a large rock during one of his slower songs, “Garden Shed.” Throughout the show, his honesty and at times awkward, introspective personality was on full display. Early on, Tyler asked someone backstage to order him some soul food, complete with a turkey leg on the side, and later, offered his musings on human behavior by asking why people scream when they’re excited. His verdict: “Humans are weird as fuck.” This stream of consciousness stage banter is exactly why Tyler’s fans love him so much…just like his music, it’s novel and most importantly, authentic. In a world where young talent is often manufactured and managed down to a predictable, packaged product, Tyler is different. That’s why his fans immediately obliged when, towards the end of the show, Tyler strongly encouraged them to put their phones away. “Have one God damn authentic experience in your fucking life.” And they did. For two glorious songs, “Sometimes,” and “See You Again,” not a phone was to be seen amongst the mass of bodies jumping up and down together, hands in the air, living in the moment, for once in their fucking lives.